What is the exam pattern of AMCAT? What is the marking scheme?

Syllabus and Pattern

Answers for questions on Syllabus and Pattern for AMCAT Exam

What is the exam pattern of AMCAT? What is the marking scheme?

The AMCAT exam consists of 4 compulsory modules and 2 optional modules. The duration of the exam depends on the type of modules. There is no negative marking in the exam but it's always better to answer every question properly as it will affect the overall marks.

AMCAT consists of 3 types of modules:

  1. Language and Aptitude (Compulsory) - English Ability, Quantitative ability, Logical ability.
  2. Personality (Compulsory) - AMCAT Personality Inventory.
  3. Skill specific Modules (Optional) - Domain or interest related modules like Computer programming for CS/IT students. Electronics and Semiconductor for ECE students, Finance and Marketing for MBA students.


Number of questions

Time duration

Quantitative Ability


18 mins

English Ability


16 mins

Logical Reasoning


16 mins

AMCAT Personality Inventory


20 mins

Domain-specific test (Select any 1 or 2 modules)

(based on the modules you select)

(based on the modules you select)

Check Complete AMCAT Syllabus

Have more questions?

Can't find what you're looking for?

Our website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience. By browsing the website you agree to our use of cookies. Please note, we do not collect sensitive data and child data. See Privacy Policy.